A typical Suffolk cottage

I have been to see my mum and am having a cup of tea before the return journey. I have passed the cottage blipped now for the seven weeks I have been visiting and realised that this is my last visit there, at least for now, as Mum goes back home on Monday. So I just took a quick pic as it is so Suffolkesque with his colours and thatch.

I have made a virtue of travelling these distances by rekindling a love for audio books. This time I have bought unabridged books as I prefer to get the full story. Years ago now, around 1998-2001, I travelled a lot to Newport when we did some teaching down there. I was younger but the drives were long and arduous. I got into audio books then and 'read' many bought at motorway stations but they were nearly all abridged. They really passed the journey . So I have started to do the same In my long drives to Suffolk. It has also meant that the two days a week 'lost', to this travelling are not lost to reading novels which are very important for me, so a great compromise. So far I have read:

Hilary Mantel short stories 'the assassination of Margaret thatcher! Good selection.
Coln Tolbm Nora Webster - brilliant, highly recommend
Ian MacEwan Children Act - great and my cup of tea
Fiona McFarlane - The night Guest about old age, memory, dementia and carers, very relevant to my journey!
Just started Linda Grant Upstairs at the Party set in York University at the end of the 60s it's like re-living my youth.

So the journeys are pleasant and my reading is kept up. Plus the tiredness I feel in the evenings is mitigated by audio reading as its restful on the eyes.

Have a good weekend. I am off to see old friends in Liverpool so hopefully can get some interesting blips. I'll catch up once home.

Must get back to my book and drive home now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.