Birgit

By Birgit

The Limburger

Made by sculptor Bert van Loo and stands in front of the Zwarte Ruiter on the Market in our village. I always wondered what the three headed figure sitting on his beer barrel meant and why it gets decorated on the famous Auw Wieverbal.
I think I know now.
We live in the province of Limburg and the figure shows the cheerful, cosy, beer drinking, but also the relativist, pious and a bit arrogant nature of the Limburger.
(Not my words, of-course. It's a translation) http://www.herbergdezwarteruiter.nl/omgeving-en-verblijf/het-beeldje/

The statue is dressed up as auwwief (old woman) by the women of the village during a ceremony before the women go from pub to pub to celebrate carnival.

It's not a good blip, I know, but the taking gave me a chance to use a special effect with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.