Calne (Wednesday 4th February 2015)

Tuesday's snow had completely gone and the day was cold and bright. I set off in another search for Calne's own dippers having been given details of where they had recently been seen along the River Marden, near to Studleybrook Farm. 

I reached the river by walking down a road I hadn't been down before and at the end of it I found a part of the Wilts & Berks canal bed that I hadn't known was viewable before. A kestrel hovered high above and the local heron sprang angrily from the river where I had unwittingly disturbed it and flew away, leaving me looking at a big clump of wild snowdrops. Of dippers there was no sign (I had another look today so watch this space...).

To return to the car, I took the steps up from the field that crossed a cycleway that runs along the former Calne-Chippenham GWR railway line and took this shot using my extravagant new prime lens, and returned along the A4, also checking the stream and continuation of the river on the other side of the road.

L.
13.2.2015 (2053 hr)

Blip #1495 (#1745 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #057
Day #1778
LOTD #730 (#850 including archived blips)

Lens: Pentax 55 mm f1.4


Calne series
Paths series
Trees series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Nina Persson - Theme From The Legacy (2014)
Watched the final episode of series 1 of this excellent series on this evening. It left lots of unfinished threads, so they had better hurry up with series 2 or there will be Trouble.

One Year Ago: #Shelfie 7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.