The second half of life..

By twigs

Super Cruz

House Sports day today.........another day full of fun, friendship, chanting and cheering.  I would usually post something from the day but this year......something different.  That's not to minimise the day - it's one I've been a part of now for more years than I care to count; I really enjoy seeing the kids work together, learn together and have fun together, no matter their age, gender or ability.  Another great one today :)

It's the Nelson Motor Show this weekend and whilst I'm no petrol-head, I did enjoy the ride-by that about 200 vehicles put on this evening.  Classic cars, pimped cars, polished cars, grunty cars, old cars, new cars........a great line up and a great community event.  Quite a few people sat out on the street and waved them all by as the passengers from the cars threw lollies out to them.  It was a colourful and cheerful community event that seemed like too good an opportunity not to blip.

This particular car caught my eye with it's kiwi and Brit flags on the wings and there in the back was a gloved hand waving.  I don't think it was Michael Jackson so I guess it must have been the queen :)

On a sadder note, I heard on the news tonight that 200 whales have stranded on Farewell Spit.  My mind immediately set to thinking about driving over there to assist with their rescue.  I'm still considering it but am thinking I probably won't.  I imagine there will be dozens of others - plenty I hope.  Re-reading my entry from 2012 when I did help out in a rescue brough back a lot of memories and feelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.