Valentine's

Finally, a splash of colour. Actually I bought them last week. I did get her a card and some chocs, though - I'm not a total grouch...

Went to see the Wave Pictures at Spanky Van Dykes last night. Another sell-out. They were better than last time, too, despite a somewhat 'rockier' sound, I presume as a result of recording with Billy Childish. They were selling advance copies of the new album but I've pre-ordered mine from Rough Trade to get tickets for the in-store so I'll have to wait a bit longer for that. A good, mixed set but with a slightly mental encore, channeling the spirit of Creedence. Seriously, chooglin' and riffin' away and then they actually segued into 'Green River.' The spirit of '69 lived! I swear there was a even a guy down the front, ahem, 'freakin' out.' And all this at quarter to midnight on a Friday night in Nottingham - it was weird, all right, but, you know, good weird...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.