Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flowers on Valentine's Day

Not for me, but from me.  This beautiful yellow rose is part of a bouquet I gave Mum today to cheer her up and wish her well.  She sent a text while I was getting ready at my flat this morning to say she'd woken up with a cold, and not to worry about coming to see her this weekend.  But I couldn't bear to think of her feeling unwell and being on her own, so I've come anyway and will stay over until tomorrow afternoon.  I cooked pancakes for us today as it's nearly Shrove Tuesday - not a patch on the ones Dad used to make, which were light and fluffy and done to perfection.  We're both still up and down after losing him.  Mum puts on a brave face, but I know it's very hard for her to be without him by her side.  They were inseparable for sixty-seven years and as much in love at the end as they were at the beginning - in fact, I would say they were probably even more in love at the end.  And somehow it's fitting that I should remember the pure romance of their relationship on Valentine's Day.


PS:  The photo looks better in the large view, as it's set off nicely against the black background of that instead of the white here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.