Old books

Many years ago, I was asked by someone to take a box of old books to the tip. I rummaged through them first and kept two of them that had inscriptions. They have lived in 4 houses with me now and have probably only ever been out of the bookcase to be packed and moved to the next house.

However for some reason I decided to have look at them today, and have been doing some research on this one with little success.

This is a 1947 American printed copy of sir Arthur Harris' bomber command. The inscription photographed here says "to my early mentor G/C Edmond R H Pollak without whose aid to bomber command this book might never have been written. Gordon Sarre ex Lt. Col. AAF. October 1947.

All I have discovered is Gordon Sarre seems to have been an American Air Force intelligence officer.

Think I've a lot of work to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.