carolinebeveridge

By beveridge

Big Ben

Today was tiring!  I decided that I should take the opportunity and go to the Cairo to Constantinople exhibition at the Queen's Gallery.   The photos were taken in 1862 by Francis Bedford and follows the journey of the Prince of Wales (who became King Edward VII).   The photos were wow, I recognised and have been to about 75-80% of the places therefore I spent over 2 hours wandering around.   Many places had hardly changed and of course these images were taken shortly after conflict which got be thinking 150 years on and not much has changed, the only difference is probably weaponry.  

I then did a bit of retail therapy a late lunch then I thought time to head south and take a few photos after walking over the Jubilee Bridge (the eye was still pink and not red). 

I wasn't going to post this shot but I have decided to since I was stopped by an over zealous security guard between London Eye and Westminster bridge about 2 seconds after taking this  - without boring you with the whole conversation the nuts and bolts is that I was told I am not allowed to take ANY photos; including (as an example)  a head and shoulders portrait shot without a licence because its on private ground and my camera and lens are BIG (its a 17-55mm lens).  Oh I argued my point having read up on what you can and can't do many times but this guy was one of the  worst.   He deemed me professional because of the said BIG camera!!!  I did tell him I work in an office but he wasn't having any of it.

I left the brown polluted sky in coz I feel it kinda matches the buildings :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.