JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

After the #SlabBoys...

Until tonight, I'd never seen John Byrne's The Slab Boys. I felt like the the only journo in Artyland (Scottish Branch) who hadn't seen it.
But thanks to my friend, Pauline, who covers BBC Scotland's arts news beat, I was lucky enough to get my mitts on one of Glasgow's hottest tickets.
This picture shows the 'after' scene where a band played before the show began in the foyer of The Citz (Glasgow's famous Citizens Theatre).
This latest version of The Slab Boys has been directed by David Hayman, who worked with John Byrne on the original version in 1978. Hayman also played the role of Willie Currie, while his younger son, Sammy, played slab boy, Phil McCann. It was a real family affair with elder son, David Hayman Jr, working as assistant director.
What a buzz there was in the foyer beforehand with many well kent faces appearing through the revolving doors from the street as a 50s style rock 'n' roll band - seated where this picture was taken - played them in.
First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, was there as was culture secretary, Fiona Hyslop and former Scottish labour leader, Johann Lamont.
There were tons of media/writing/theatre types - many of whom I vaguely recognised; some of whom I did actually recognise. I even met a couple of pals from places I worked years ago and hadn't seen for years.
And, of course, there was the inimitable John Byrne. I took pix of him as he came in, but they were rubbish. (Hard to take a bad picture, I know, but I managed it...)
The set, as designed and created by JB, was a dream ticket. It was as if he'd conjured up his past life in the Stoddart carpet factory slab room circa 1956 to a tee. From his James Dean painted poster to the reference to Giotto on a back wall, not to mention the paint-spattered brown 'lab' coats, Belfast Sink, and brothel creeper shoes, it was just braw. Love, love, loved it!
The play was not what I expected. Overall, I enjoyed it and by the end, it was swinging. I think the cast was nervous and it took a while to get into its stride. The language is very particular and the cast - in the main - very young, so owning a stage with such a verbose and patter-laced script is a challenge.
I think my favourite performance came from Scott Fletcher as put-upon slab boy, Hector Mckenzie. He can do slapstick, pathos, bathos, cute, funny and tragic all in one perfectly-formed package. A real talent.
Sammy Hayman is definitely 'one to watch too. What razor-sharp cheekbones he has...
Jamie Quinn as Spanky struck just the right note of wit and sympathetically world-weary resignation.
As for Kathryn Howden as Ida, the baffie-wearing tea lady with rough tongue and soft heart? She lit up the stage as she battered Phil into a corner for his cheek.
And so to bed. A good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.