This Will Actually Happen

Like family, we are tied to each other. This is what all good musicians understand.

Billy Joel


Last night, G sent us an audio file of his upcoming performance titled just as this blip. T and I listened with love and amazement as he wove brilliantly with words the story of Nora, of my family, of our DNA . Fragments, layered, nuanced and extended, embraced us spellbound and teary hanging on each sentence. Yes, we knew the 'in jokes', the family tales. Of course I recognized the strong skeleton of research he and I did, but his words were not just tuned for our pleasure. It was like a wonderful old radio play with funky twists from my distant childhood, or any story about any family, about every family, about love.

For the Record,
This day came in gloomy and wet, but nothing can dampen the glow I still feel from G's words last night. In this blip we see baby Nora, motherless, as a young woman, becoming a mother, my mother and G's sweet ginger pigtailed sister, S, helping with Nora's next to last birthday cake, our Nora at 95.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.