Avebury (Friday 6th February 2015)

I will remember this walk as one of the coldest in living memory. Although the temperature was above freezing, as the soggy chalk soil testified, there was a numbingly bitter wind.

My plan had been to have a stroll around Avebury before going on to shop in Marlborough, but by the time I got back to the car I was only fit to go home, although I was pleased to have done the walk.

I had parked at the bottom of West Kennett Avenue and walked up the sarsen stone-lined path to the stone circle and henge. I wandered among the stones in the south-east and north-east quadrants and walked back along the top of the henge to the avenue, catching the low afternoon light. The blip was taken with my new 55mm prime, which, unless it is coincidence, seems to add a golden cast to its images.

L.
15.2.2015 (1100 hr)

Blip #1497 (#1747 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #059
Day #1780
LOTD #732 (#852 including archived blips)

Alternatives:
Hawthorn
Tree Landscape
Fieldfare

A Walk Around Avebury, 6 February 2015 (Flickr album)

Lenses: Pentax 55 mm f1.4 (Blip), Pentax 17-70 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm, iPad

Landscape series
Avebury series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac - Oh Well (Parts 1 & 2) (1969)

One Year Ago: Calne (Dali O'Clock)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.