Cailleach

By Cailleach

For Cammy

Just before Christmas, my lovely cousin Cameron was taken into hospital, unable to walk, hear or see out of one eye.

After a few weeks of tests (which proved negative for everything) he was allowed home, walking with crutches, his sight and hearing restored.

We didn't see each other regularly, but we chattered often on Facebook and the phone. Like all the men in our family, he was quiet, clever, and incredibly funny. (The women are the opposite....noisy and a bit thick!)

Last month, I found a photo of our grandfather, taken in the 1920s when he was, inexplicably, at art school in Belgium. It's a fabulous picture, and I promised to send a copy to my cousin.

Yesterday morning Cameron died, aged just 53, leaving his wife and two teenagers heartbroken. It transpires he had a very rare form of brain cancer, which mercifully, gave him no pain at all.

I never sent the bloody photo, and I will always regret it, for I know he wanted to see it.

So to all of you, I say this....don't put things off. Don't think people automatically know how you feel.
Tell them...write that letter....lift the phone...send a text....type an email...

But do it today. Before you regret not doing it yesterday. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.