The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Encaustic Art

We spent yesterday evening playing around with Dawn's Christmas present.

I came across the term "encaustic art" a while back. When we looked into it we discovered that it was painting with wax, something neither of us had heard of before.

This is my effort at it. I am absolutely chuffed to nuts with it .. I am rubbish at art normally, but the amazing thing about painting with wax is, your only limit is your ability to create. It is a very abstract art form. I knew I wanted to do a mountain-scape .. pardon the hot wax pun, but this just went with the flow. Yes I had to make the tree using the melting iron, but the whole colour scheme is just created by playing until you are happy with an effect.

We created a few pictures each. It was awesome fun. I suspect there will be more encaustic art blips to follow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.