Lactic legs

Rich was on pooch duty this morning as I set off up the Wharfedale valley.  I had a number of destinations in mind, starting with Burnsall Bridge, hoping for Grassington and with the possibility of Kettlewell just peeking out behind a brain cell in the back of my mind.

It was due to be misty and foggy all the way so little patches of blue sky hanging around were an added bonus.  There were lots of cyclists around including a number of pelotons - I do much prefer it quieter but I was still enjoying myself.

Burnsall came and went.  Grassington eventually arrived which is where I managed to convince myself that it wasn’t too hilly to carry on to Kettlewell where I’d stop for lunch.  Chuffed I was when I got there but I concluded that I’d rather do more than half of the route before stopping - Burnsall for lunch then.  So, after a bar, I set back off down the other side of the valley - the sun even made a little appearance.

Burnsall, and I couldn’t be bothered to stop for lunch so I had another bar and continued.  At Barden Bridge, the road was closed with police signs so I figured something nasty had gone on.  Not wanting to have to retrace my wheels if I couldn’t get through (and being a bit of a follower of rules are rules), I headed back over Barden Bridge and up a hill I wasn’t intending to do twice.  But I made it and continued to Bolton Abbey the back way, where I saw an ambulance crossing the pedestrian bridge.  The accident must be nearby and traffic tricky if an ambulance had to come the back way so  again, rather than having to double back, I concluded that the Storiths hill was the only way forward. 

And upward.  Like I really didn’t need!

And upward.  And upward. And upward.  Along with all the redirected traffic coming my way - not so pleasant on a single lane road.  I did get the minor grumps!

Having another bar where it levelled out just before the top, I finally saw the downhill and home felt achievable.  I arrived home with a fair amount of leg burn but following fried eggs on toast, I started to realise I wasn’t going to pass out.

Trying to work out whether I could have got through or not, I have discovered that a cyclist died today.  I don’t know much of the detail but I’m glad I didn’t try to get through.  A number of  lives will have change quite horribly today.  It's left me feeling a little sad.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.