Savage Winter

The title refers not to today but the evidence scattered along the west shore of Lochan na h-Earba. The last time we were here it was too cold to let an exposed hand mess about with a tripod. While it was by no means tropical in a chilly breeze which seemed to constantly change direction it was possible to set up the legs without any discomfort. As usual the beach looked beautiful and I really liked the look of these big banks of dirty crystalline snow along the water's edge. I have been fortunate enough to have visited a glacier and these icy mounds put me in mind of that, in character, if not in absolute scale.

I imagine that a sea shore in Greenland in early summer may look like this. I have tendered for work in Greenland. That it didn't happen (so far) was not because of any commercial errors on my part but an apparently very complex multi-tiered administration that makes planning permission move forward at the pace of a glacier. Work or not, I would love to go sometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.