71: other end

This is most odd. Most of the time when writing and posting you know that there's a chance that someone will read it at some point but when the existence of the blog itself is called into question by such a prolonged outage it's odd writing things in anticipation of the resumption when it becomes less certain when this might be... I am in any case prepared; rather than attempting to keep the text-file-of-text updated across two locations I've stuck it in a Google Document and shall perhaps do something similar with the pictures (although they can also be simply uploaded from a portable telephone) if storing and retrieving jpegs in a Google Folder is possible... excellent: although .jpg is not stated as amongst the permissible filenesses which might be uploaded it seems to accept them and EXIF data is retained upon download though the file name has to be copied and pasted into the Save Image As dialog. All quite efficient; I do keep trying to remember to use online documents for things but generally forget and only use them for things which only work when shared such as the family-birthday-and-christmas-present-wishlist which my dad always claims to not be able to access. Blip-text would be a useful thing to keep there so that bits might be added throughout the day at work as and when they occur rather than trying to remember things all day and then generally finding that they've been replaced by the time I get round to posting. It would also safeguard text against the occasional text-deleting form error.

I do hope it will all come back soon...

(Hurrah. It has.)

Anyway. I thought I heard a bit of rain this morning before the alarm went off but it seemed to have stopped whilst I was distracted by breakfast and the mild issue of a not-quite-shut freezer door and subsequent slight meltings of things. It resumed just as I was leaving and quickly ramped up to a somewhat extreme and immediately-soaking level requiring me to stop and move my phone from my shorts to a more waterproof pocket. I don't know if the reasonably high winds somehow affect the droplet size but the result was what felt like fairly hefty tablespoonsful of water being driven into the face at reasonably high speed. At least as refreshing and wakefulness-inducing as the longer and more roundabout ride in I had been planning would have been had it not been raining. The only problem with getting completely sopping wet on the way in is that there is nowhere in the changing-room where damp items can be safely placed without fear of thievery or of them being removed and placed in a damp, crumpled heap on the floor so anything which you might want to be dry by the end of the day has to be taken up to the office and discreetly hung on one of the (thankfully still not switched-on) radiators behind the meeting-table. I think the next time it rains I'll maybe hang the inner shorts under my desk somewhere as they certainly didn't get much dryer hanging inside my locker and were distinctly clammy when I replaced them before leaving this evening. This led me to go straighter home than I was intending which meant I required a further exercise-walk a bit later on which took me past the other end of that.

There is a possible alternative hanging-things-out-to-dry place in the form of the strange space full of pipes and valves and ducts and whatnot (very similar to the room full of pipes and heat at school in which tents and the like would be hung to dry) which can be accessed from a little service door just behind the door to the changing room. The worst that could happen is that they would be stolen by the creatures who live within such spaces but seeing as I keep my keys in my outer baggies and generally forget to remove them and stick them somewhere safer then this worst is quite worst.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.