Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Mount St. Helens from Sauvie Island

I headed out very early this morning for Sauvie Island...wanted to get there before the sun rose.  I was about 5 minutes late, but the sun was just peaking over the horizon and the island was bathed in a beautiful glow.  At one point as I drove toward Coon Point, I just had to pull over and take some photos into the sun...I love how they turned out.

Coon Point was alive with activity ---  eagles, hawks, lots of geese, and sandhill cranes.  I was surprised when one of my birding friends turned up...what a treat!  He's full of great information, and I learned so much during the couple hours we were there.  Then we headed to the platform on Reeder Rd to watch the snow geese.  That was another treat as the eagles flew in and the entire flock lifted off.  What a beautiful sight!!!

I returned right before lunch to meet up with Bob's second cousin who was visiting from Ohio.  We had thai food and spent the next few hours discussing genealogy.  The perfect day all around :)

For more photos from the day visit my flickr page
https://www.flickr.com/photos/sherriestahl/sets/72157650830854532/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.