The second half of life..

By twigs

The luck of the Irish

Only thing was - it wasn't luck.  Ireland played a great game - deliberate, safe, determined, and the West Indies just didnt' fire.

An historic day when Ireland, a cricketing minnow, beat the West Indies, a cricketing giant, righ here in Nelson and I was there to see it  :)

I decided late in the piece, when things were beginning to look more and more like an Irish win, that I'd venture to the ground and see if I could catch the last few overs.  I did, though not without a few questions from the local security people. 

A fabulous event at a beautiful ('boutique'!) ground in gorgeous late-afternoon sunshine.

West Indies: 304-7 (50 overs), Ireland: 307-6 (45.5 overs)

Ireland win by 4 wickets.

The first time Ireland have ever beaten the West Indies.  Great if you're Irish.  Not so great if you're West Indian.

That will spice the competition up a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.