Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Cairo Rain

It very rarely rains here. I think I've seen it three times in three years. Today there were just a few spots and everyone was happy it stopped at that as with the sand storm just a few days ago and there still being sand everywhere (more than normal!), it would have been very mucky!

Another nice day here; coffee at my colleague Nicola's flat this morning; then a delicious bowl of lentil soup with garlic bread in the Club 33 on the Nile; we both then did a bit of work in the late afternoon and I went into school to finish things off, hand out the precious Cadbury's cream eggs to the lucky 10 people and say my cheerios; I had a wee bit of important shopping to do in Zamalek; and finished off the day there in the Korean restaurant, where Natalie joined us for a drink. She just lives across the street (great location for a flat!) and we were at her charades and pizza party yesterday. She's leaving Cairo soon, so it was nice to spend a wee bit of time with her.

My blip's another taxi shot. You can see the rain on the window. Note the lack of helmets. There are often whole families on bikes here, including wee kiddies, and all helmetless!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.