A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday :: Bridge :: mm55

No.174


This footbridge links both platforms of my local train station. This has been taken on the ‘down’ platform side and the passing train ‘does not stop here’ as it’s next stop is Sevenoaks. 

Convention says trains going into London are going ‘up’ and those leaving are going ‘down’. This is strange as when I lived in Hertfordshire I thought I went down to London although in train terms I was going up.

I have walked over this footbridge hundreds of times but never really noticed the little sign under it. It is an Engineers Line Reference which locates every bridge on the network. 

This is bridge No.174 and the XTD means it’s on the Charing Cross (X) to Dover (D) line. The 15M 24C tells us it is 15 miles and 24 chains away from Charing Cross. A chain is 22 yards or the length of a cricket pitch.

As a coincidence 174 was the number of the house I was born in.

This is my entry for this week’s Mono Monday Challenge set by JoannaInOz.

I have set myself a Mono Month Challenge (MMC), this also covers Mono Mondays. For the whole of February I will only Blip Mono images, I have passed the halfway mark now..!


MMC #16 :: No.174 :: mm55 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.