The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Preparation

This is is the early stages of a cottage pie that is being prepared by Mrs W. I am always attracted to the shapes and colours of food being cooked, yet never quite so impressed by the resulting images.
I suspect that so much of the attraction to food comes from the aroma and therefore that can never be recreated in an image. However, there is obviously another huge reliance on lighting and the use of flash lighting flattens it so much that it spoils the original view. It goes to show that there is a lot of skill required to get the lighting correct for photographing food and something I would love to learn more about but I doubt if I’ll ever rig up sophisticated lighting just to grab a potential blip while the missus cooks dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.