Beeeze

By beeeze

Tea Dance

This week is Dementia Awareness week. My mother has late stage vascular dementia and I care for her full time. One of the most supportive groups I have become involved with is our local Dementia Café.

Today they held a tea dance to raise funds and as Ma was at the day centre I took my Auntie Mavis along. It was a terrific turnout and we thoroughy enjoyed it. Unfortunately neither of us were up for the dancing - she's 84 with dicky joints and I can't dance 'properly'. But we enjoyed watching all the others and had a good gossip about Strictly, a gentle bitch about some of the showboating going on on the dance floor (you would NOT believe it!), scarfed a bit of cake and Mave won afternoon tea at Slatterys on the raffle.

She's only very recently widowed and was clearly delighted to tell me all about how she met Uncle Vic at a dance - even though he did dance with her sister first! (and not entirely sure that he's been forgiven for that yet...)

I write a blog about living with Ma and her dementia, the link is in my bio. As it is Dementia Awareness week please pop along and have a read if you would, it's not depressing in the least I promise you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.