Beckfoot Bridge - Bingley

Mono Monday - Bridge, thank you JoanneInOz for hosting.

This is a much photographed bridge which local blippers will know well.  It stands on the old bridal and pack horse route from the lower Aire Valley to Bingley.  Originally a wooden bridge, replaced with stone in 1723.  
Beckfoot Farm which you can just see to the right has a datestone marked  16 ER IR AR.  The lanterns on the corners of the farm show that the property was once owned by the Knights of St John.  (I googled all that - though I do know it's all old!)

Any ideas what the large circular stone is with the hole in it?

The ford here is a place where my children, Maclary and now Chino have played over the years.  The water was looking pretty high considering it hasn't rained much of late.

I'm actually on holiday this week - woo hoo - think I might let my hair down - don't think a paddle is on the cards though! :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.