The Poppy is finished!!

Remember this, well its finished. Actually I still need to do the label - which I am procrastinating about as I can't think of a name. It is for an exhibition (and competition) entitled 'Peace'. I have chosen the poppy as I love the fact that it is such a globally universal symbol of remembrance.  Working in a primary school, each year we sell poppies, to reception through to year 6 children, with staff buying them too. At the other end of the spectrum there is the older generation like my mum who buys a poppy at the first chance she gets and wears it proudly. The poppy is something that crosses the age gap and keeps alive the need to remember what people have fought for.

The actual poppy is a photograph I took of a friends kitchen wall paper. I found it really hard to get a picture of a poppy with enough definition to recreate. All the fabric has been had painted with acrylic paints and heat set in the microwave. This gave a lovely mottled effect - even the background and binding are hand painted.  Then I painstakingly cut out and laid out all the pieces, it took two nights to do this, then nights and nights of machine stitchery to finish. 

I just need to think of a name. I was thinking of 'We Shall Remember' or 'For the fallen' neither suggest the relevance of the cross generation thing that I would have liked to have got in. But my I can't think of anything better. If anyone has a suggestion -  it would be greatly appreciated. 

Looking at it through from a photograph I am quite pleased with it. Now need to get on with my Block of the Month, hence spent the evening sewing snowmen and penguins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.