What The...?

This gnarly 'creature' is The underground root of Smilax glauca or Cat Brier. Cat Brier is a Southeastern U.S. native vine with thorns on it that you or your dogs will never forget if you encounter them. This vine provides protective shelter and food for over 40 species of birds and is an important part of the diet for deer, black bear, rabbits, and beaver. Smilax's roots have been used for hundreds of years to make sarsaparilla (root beer) and it's young roots can be cooked and eaten. Medically, powder made from the roots has been used to treat gout and several other maladies. A 2008 study suggests that Smilax root has antiviral properties and a 2006 study suggests that it might be used to treat liver cancer. Smilax's roots can become impressively large. This one is only about the size of my hand but I've seen monsters 3 feet+ long and as thick as my leg dug out of the ground (shiver)!

All of the above having been said... Wonderful in wild spaces, not so much in my yard though and I confess to digging it up whenever I discover it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.