horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Sealed

No idea if this picture will work - my iPad has been playing up since installing the latest IOS, and very odd things are going on with the pictures and downloading them from a memory card...

We'd headed out before breakfast to see the seals at the mouth of the Ythan, but a misreading of the tide tables by me meant we were there in the grey drizzle at high tide, with a just a few in the water, and a singing Yellowhammer breaking the gloom.

Thereafter to work, helping sort out the garage for my mum, and taking things down to the tip (after having hung some pictures last night), but that was finished earlier than expected, and with the sun illuminating Starlings there was time to pop back. This time the sun was in them (we got the perfect window, with cloudiness soon taking over again) with the estuary looking stunning and around 400 seals hauled out. There's a good reason I always like coming out here whenever I'm back in the area.

I went all nostalgic later. I only popped out to grab a potential sunset, and wound up driving round the streets of Ellon, taking in old houses, places of work, schools, and various hang-outs, sparking all sorts of memories. All before going out for dinner, meeting up with my brother and his girlfriend. Shattered now, the train ride home tomorrow will be a heck of a rest....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.