Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Dreaded Middle Seat

This isn’t very inspired but rather a shot taken out of necessity. 

If you fly at all these days, you know that on any US domestic flight, the amount of personal space you have is quite limited. I always aim for extra legroom, an aisle seat and early boarding of the plane to assure some coveted overhead bin space.  When the plane was almost full and the middle seat was still empty, I thought: "Could I possibly be this lucky?” ….Well, not very likely!   Just as they were about to close the doors, the occupant of the seat arrived and he was a very large man of about 6’2” and 300 pounds. He apologized for his size, so I tried very hard not to make him feel any worse than I knew he already did.  I was, however, forced to lean into the aisle a bit because he spilled over into my space. As a result,  I was knocked by every flight attendant who went up and down the aisle. The skies weren’t feeling so “friendly” today. 

To top it all off, I arrived at Dulles at 9 pm in the middle of a raging snowstorm.  My husband had tried to come get me but couldn’t get out of our neighborhood so I was forced to stand in the very long taxi line and share a cab with two others.  It took me another 2 hours to get home. Thankfully, my cab had 4 wheel drive. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.