Jennynlper

By Jennynlper

MonoMonday: The Journey

On my way home from Cambridge, I stopped the night at my sister's house in Sandy, then set off for Somerset mid-day. I chose the scenic route along the A303, but rather regretted the hour it took to go past Stonehenge. I managed this shot whilst stationary, hoping for a better one as I lined up with it, but alas the traffic started moving freely. The delay, I think, is people slowing down to look! The tip of the heel stone, which marks the summer solstice as the sun rises in line with the avenue, is just visible as a pimple on the horizon away from the main monument. I remember being able to touch and climb over some of those stones as a child. Now, the public is held back around the perimeter, which is both a good and a sad thing. Worth becoming a pagan for?

I originally post this a day late as I got in a muddle as I caught up,and it was a long journey yesterday! Blip doesn't seem to by fanatical about entry dates any longer. Good thing, too. We don't want to be too obsessive about blip, do we? But then, I couldn't leave it alone, so deleted Sunday's entry (post it next time I visit my sister's house), and moved them up one. Obsessive? Moi?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.