My first picture

By ColinCampbell

Unscripted meanders in Glen Nevis

I started out with a plan to go up Sgur Choinnich Mor, but when I got to Glen Nevis changed my mind and decided to go up Aonach Beag. By the time I'd got to Sgor Coire Bealaich I could see that there was far too much snow up there so I swapped back to plan A and dropped off the bealaich and went up Sgur Choinnich Mor. The view as spectacular - the panorama shows the view from the Aonachs all the way round to the Mamores.

On the way back down I was about to plant my foot when a grouse took off from the toe of my boot. I must have been about to kick it up the backside and it must have been keeping still to avoid being seen. I looked down and managed to change my stride before stepping on the clutch of six eggs left behind.

It's been three days of spectacular weather. Sun and heat and not the slightest threat of rain. Back to normality tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.