By Himself

By Himself

Inside Elbow

The new art gallery in Skibbereen has been officially named 'Uillinn' ('Elbow' in Irish) because of its cantilevered shape and has caused some controversy, as modern architecture tends to do.

I went inside for the first time today to see what it had to offer. I am very picky about museums and galleries because in a past life I worked as a consultant, advising them on how to manage their relationship with the public. 

I would have given Uillinn a hard time. Although it may be forgiven some things because it has only recently opened and does have funding issues, it makes all the classic mistakes which are likely to alienate its public - and that won't help with the funding. 

I am not going to bore you with all the details but I believe they have a HUGE amount to learn about communicating what they are about and making visitors feel comfortable and welcome and helping them to enjoy their Art. I really didn't know what to do, where to go or what to expect in there. Someone with less confidence could be totally bewildered. The new hand driers in the loos were not working either.

Anyway the image is a piece by Rhona Byrne 'Colour threshold #2', 2013. (Why do these titles always need the '#2' bit?). From the handout I read later, It "invited me to become immersed in, and part of, the installation by wearing capes which are hanging on the wall and passing through a hanging threshold of colour". Now how many of you would have been brave enough to have taken a cape off the wall and put it on when the usual message in a gallery is don't bloody touch anything, especially when it's hanging on the wall?

But I really liked the colours and have had fun trying to keep the balance about right in this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.