Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

The Great Court in the British Museum

This morning I dropped off some Mackintosh leaflets at the RIBA for this evening's preview event of the Mackintosh Architecture Exhibition. 

As it was such a beautiful morning I then walked over to the British Museum, which was really busy because of half-term.

I have been wanting to photograph the Great Court in the British Museum for a while and the light was superb today. It is a stunning space and has to be one of the world's most extraordinary covered squares.

Opened on 6 December 2000 and designed by Foster and Partners, the Queen Elizabeth II Great Court is the largest covered public square in Europe, enclosed under a spectacular glass and steel roof. Surrounding the famous Reading Room, the court contains a number of sculptures from the Museum’s collection.

I then walked down to Soho and had a lovely lunch at the Korean restaurant, Bibimbap.

After recharging my batteries I made my way down to the Embankment to see the ever changing face of the London skyline.

Now getting ready for tonight's Mackintosh Architecture Exhibition preview at the RIBA.

Update: Just back from a fabulous evening at the RIBA and an excellently curated exhibition that shows tantalising glimpses of what might have been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.