Scallop

GIVE me my scallop-shell of quiet,
  My staff of faith to walk upon,
My scrip of joy, immortal diet,
   My bottle of salvation,
My gown of glory, hope's true gage ;
And thus I'll take my pilgrimage.

Sir Walter Raleigh



Continuing with the St James  theme - my daily yomp around the circuit and this very pretty pink scallop was poking out of the sand. The scallop is the symbol of those who have pilgrimaged along the Camino to the burial place of St James in Santiago del Compostella, Spain. St James was a disciple of Jesus and beheaded in 44AD. As his body was being transported towards Santiago a storm arose and his body was swept overboard, later miraculously being washed ashore covered in scallops.  They've always been a symbol of pligrims on a camino and it's still usual to wear one as you tramp along. Traditionally English pilgrims set sail from Bristol and Irish from Dingle, arriving at La Coruna where there was then a 45-50 mile walk. Metaphorically the ridges on scallop were used to show all routes of the Camino heading for one desitnation. The Camino has become very popular again, I quite fancy walking some of it myself. Here ends the history lesson. I know some people just like to eat scallops :/  I'm saying nothing for I've told that story before!
rather gorgeous scallop here, though some people got very worked up about it.


Chips and Arthouse shortly and tonight's offering is Charlie's Country , and Aussie film - I'll report back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.