TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Viola

I ended up moving our two apple trees which I'd planted in the early days of recovering the garden - the Lost Garden of Eric - up a chalk cliff. Then shovelling out barrowloads of chalk and moving them down the garden. Made a fire, pruned and shaped shrubs, pulled up and cut back brambles. Cut out some of the new hazel wands to let the others grow up and away.


Chalk is amazing. Much heavier than it looks and clammy with withheld water. 80 million years old.

I took a few photos in the early sun and the violas won out after I caught a glimpse when bending down to tied my boots up of the way the three pots lined up. 

The Met Office are saying it may be one of the sunniest winters on record. It was again gorgeous today if cold.

Wolf Hall tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.