Malawi Flooding

I visited Malawi as Education Secretary in 2012 and was moved and charmed in equal measure. The country, despite its severe problems , really is the "warm heart of Africa" and has a very special relationship with Scotland that dates back to David Livingstone.

I have been sparing in what I have accepted as new challenges since I left Government but I was pleased to be nominated last month, along with the Lib Dem Orkney MSP Liam MacArthur , as Co-Convenor of the Cross Partty Group on Malawi in the Scottish Parliament and tonight I attended my first meeting in that role.

We heard a number of presentations regarding the devastation and humanitarian crisis caused by the recent floods and the use to which the conseqeuntial special aid offered by the Scottish Government had been put. We also had a fascinating report from Liam on his visit to the country last week.

CPGs bring together Parliamentarians , experts and those with strong interests in particular topics and tonight there was present a wide range of individuals Including Peter West the Malawian Honorary Consul and his predecessor Colin Cameron who was a Minister in the first post independence government of the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.