The Daily Record

By havohej

Alkerdeel Morinde

Alkerdeel 'Morinde' (At War With False Noise/Consouling Sounds, 2012)

Oh dear, what a truly awful week I've had. Woe is me. It's a shame that I have to partake in the hideous tyranny of bondage and servitude to earn a crust, but needs must when records have to be bought. After yet another miserable day of trying to avoid mudslinging I decided to treat myself to a wee glass of red and catch up on my recent birthday purchases.

I recently received a package from the brilliantly named At War With False Noise records who are based in Kilmarnock and are operated by occasional internet warrior, but extremely nice in real life, Al. Within said package was this absolute gem of a record.

This is the first time I have had to deal with a new arrival being earlier in the alphabet than a record already posted. I had thought that I would just ignore new additions, but this is so good I had to include it.

I purchased this based entirely on the packaging, lovely heavy cardboard printed with a bleeding woodcut wolf beating a duck to death with a stick, and a fantastic short video on the At War With False Noise website.

'Morinde' is wonderful. What sweet relief after the lumpen wall of noise that I encountered in the Arches as Sleep took to the stage last night. Alkerdeel are unhinged, a true release of power and emotion but done in such a hypnotic and dank manner that is it immediately more appealing and relaxing than myriad Iommic worshippers.

Like the great releases in this field, Highgate's eponymous debut and 'Pillars' by Fleshpress, 'Morinde' veers from chaotic almost bestial black metal, to trance inducing pounding often within the same track. Soulful bass entwines itself over solid ritualistic drums whilst repetitive riff after repetitive riff builds and builds enhanced my maniacal, other worldly screams. Hints of noise and power electronics further add to the claustrophobic vastness. And that's just the epic 'du levande' which takes up the whole of side two.

Recorded live, 'Only Live is Real!' the sleeve proclaims in a twist on Tom G Warrior's motto, in Ghent, the whole record is like some gloriously twisted ritual. Four Belgians bring forth the horrors that are lurking just beyond the grasp of my perception and I want to embrace them; both the horrors and the lovely Belgians for making me happy.

Akerdeel are the band you chance upon whilst trying to escape the packed room at Roadburn where the 20th Electric Wizard derivatives have taken the stage. They reel you in with dissonant, almost Akercocke, melodies and force you to stay, ensnared by their beautiful otherworldliness. They take you away from the mundane; the bland mewling herd, and offer enlightenment through wave upon wave of unshackled and unhindered majesty.

In case you haven't guessed; I absolutely love this record. It has almost brought tears to my eyes how much this has cheered me up. Thank you Alkerdeel.

An essential purchase from a record label based in Scotland. You can't ask for much more than that.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.