Friday Foto

By drmackem

Calm before the invasion

My blipping was all planned. I was running the Badgerstone Relay up on the moor, and I'd run a leg and take photos of slow running exhausted runners up that nasty little sting in the tale ascent at the end of each leg.

Unwisely I agreed to be medic support and run the race, I reckoned run the first leg, as it wouldn't be professional to see someone run in all bloodied and to head off on my leg whilst they waited for me to come back round 20min or so later. No one could injur themselves on a wee fell run like this in perfect conditions, I'd then have 40min to recover and blip and shout abusive encouragement to fellow runners.

But having just cooled down I was off running back up the course to someone who had fallen and was limping, Got back to the start took one photo and had to run back again a mile to find someone who couldn't even limp. So I'm left with a photo I took when I arrived.

The start of the race is just beyond the tree I blipped a couple of weeks ago, there a lovely view down onto Ilkley and beyond. This treesome had clearly come prepared, the chap on the right is pouring out the wine, they were going to enjoy to serentity of the moor in the evening. They didn't account for the arrival of 150 runners and famillies and a few dogs for the Badgerstone Relay Race.

I had a better run than Saturday and whist it was a breathless effort loved the fun of it all. I teamed up with a couple of old friends from Bingley Harriers and we enjoyed a beer afterwards - I think I agreed to something that I'll regret (many a bad plan is made over beer) - but more of that later this year.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.