Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

An Invitation

Another sunny start to the day and another opportunity for breakfast on the patio.

My reading matter this morning included the science around lenses and other accessories kit macro or close-up photography. I was gratified to read that my 60mm macro lens met the recommendations for a good macro lens on my APS-C Canon 60D camera. This was my first major investment (following my original DSLR 400D purchase), and I have always been pleased with the results.

Looking around the garden I noticed that a Flag Iris, which was a tightly furled bud yesterday, was now in full bloom. I took took a number of shots from different angles, from full head portraits to back-lit close ups of a petal. However I liked this shot, which not only followed on from the theme of the article I had just read, but also for its more unusual angle which reminded me of a poem from childhood:
"Will you walk into my parlour?" said the Spider to the Fly,
"Tis the prettiest little parlour that ever you did spy;
The way into my parlour is up a winding stair,
And I've a many curious things to shew when you are there."
"Oh no, no," said the little Fly, "to ask me is in vain,
For who goes up your winding stair can ne'er come down again."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.