Black Mountains Blips

By Hanneke3

Wave Cloud over Hatteral Ridge

I went for a walk yesterday, in the early Spring sunshine. It was wonderful and I took so many photos I had difficulties choosing a Blip. I chose the bee on the snowdrop, but this was the runner up...

Today I am working. Teaching a yoga class early morning and one at night, with a day of running the arts centre sandwiched between. It is also dark, gloomy and VERY wet...

So today's Blip is one of yesterdays photos... as it is too good to not share with you.

Hatteral Ridge is the most Easterly row of hills of the Black Mountains and forms the border between England and Wales. As such it is not only wonderful for views from the top in either direction, it also does things with the weather! There is a spot where it almost always rains for example... and having lived here for a few years now, I know how to read the clouds coming over the hill so I can judge where to lead my bike ride in order to avoid the rain.

Yesterday was interesting. It was very windy, and also very warm in the valley. As I walked up the lane to almost halfway up, it got a lot colder. These differences in temperature, the ridge formation and the wind made for this extraordinary cloud that hovered above the ridge for absolutely hours. I have been told by my hang glider pilot partner that this is called a wave cloud and it is quite rare. I haven't seen this before and I have lived here for nine years.

Yes, the sky was that blue. No filters, no manipulation, no cropping, just as it was!

I love where I live!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.