Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

Making the Most of Your Gifts

I thought that was a good title.  It fits the image and my purpose here.  This is the box from the kids' Valentine's gifts from my folks.  I'm sure everyone remembers how much fun it was to play in a box as a kid.  It's such a simple thing, but it sparks imagination in a way that toys and video games don't.  It's purpose is for you to determine.  It is like nature in that way.  These kinds of moments are what we remember from our childhood. 

When you think about your own "play" as a child, what do you remember?  For me, the most vivid moment is playing Statue Maker in my backyard with the neighborhood kids.  You spin somebody around and release them.  They fly away from you and land in a pose.  However they land, they must freeze and then think of what kind of statue they are.  The spinner chooses the best statue.  Nature, imagination, friends, physical activity and not one single man-made object.

I've been letting my daily blip slip and this box is a reminder to seize the moments.  To capture them with my camera.  To share the little things that make us human; that bring joy.  I read this quote yesterday: The more you are thankful. The more you attract things to be thankful for.  Each blip I post or view is just one moment in one day to be thankful for.

So...anyway... some people see just a box.  I aim to help others see more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.