Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Quiet - Photographer at Work!

This is where I've been spending a fair amount of time lately - the bushtit nest is to my left, now almost buried in the clematis. I've had to scout around to find places where I can still focus on the nest and the branches near it - I had to abandon the green chair because I couldn't see the nest from there anymore.

It's a lovely way to spend my coffee time in the morning. There's almost constant activity with the parents bringing food, keeping things cleaned up and safe (they were on high alert when a squirrel came within a few feet of the nest this morning). It's become my morning meditation. I'll be sad when the babies fledge and strike out on their own. But who knows, maybe this pair will start another family this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.