memento

By memento

Weird orientation

Somewhere in the middle of a very productive day, I decided to dress properly and take a walk down the sidewalk. I made it to the sidewalk, saw these lovely stalks of Russian Sage with their drippy shadows, and snapped a picture. The camera's shutter struggled a bit to open and close. The tiny bit of uncovered skin between the edge of the beanie and the wrapped scarf felt like it was stinging. My eyeballs glazed over within a few seconds, making my eyelids stick. The rest of me was toasty, almost overheated. How do people ski in this? Jog??!!

I received a neighborhood email this morning of a feral cat that's been found and rescued and is at the Humane Society tonight. My first thought was that it might be the one that I saw under my deck but it isn't. Weeks of repeated, brutal cold and no liquid water available has taken a big toll on this part-Himalayan kitty with it's blue eyes. Its ears and nose are half gone because of frost-bite and it was found starving and on the verge of death from dehydration. Bastard cold weather. I hate it more now. While waiting for some large files to render, I was playing QuizUp with a guy from Romania and one of the questions was: how many cats are eaten in Asia annually? 4 million, 8 million, 12 million or 20 million? I nearly threw up. Sorry Asia, this is terribly judgmental and western of me but that is just F'd up.

Other than that it was a wonderful happy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.