Mum's Diabetic Fruit Cake

In just over a week I have an 8 day tramp in Nelson Lakes National Park. 

With a full week of work ahead of me and maybe touch-ups/fixes to my house repairs at the end of next week, I'm underway to sorting my food.

On multi-day trips my lunches are based around crackers. This time I'm going to do some lunches based on a slab of fruit cake and a slab of cheese.

Mum was diabetic and in her latter years I remember someone gave her a recipe for a diabetic fruit cake. Sometimes she made me one for Christmas or my birthday.

It's really easy and quick and I reckon slabs of this will be just the ticket for some of my tramping lunches.

If it lasts that long ;-)

Roma's Diabetic Fruit Cake


1kg tasty fixed fruit
1 3/4 cup quality orange juice
2 cups self raising flour

Mix everything together.
Oil and flour a ring tin.
Cook at 160-170 degrees C for an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.