Chicken hawk

Went to the river while the eldest was in her dance class.  No egrets just a pigeon and some very hungry looking carp then this fella landed on the railing next to me about a foot away.  He's not in my birds of Japan book so I've decided he's a chicken hawk.

Some old people came by soon enough to scare him away and inform me that he was a kingfisher or a bird called a red belly.  Old people, is there anything they don't know?

Ear nose and throat doctor told me that because I'm foreign, I have a big nose.  He likes to throw out English terms here and there when he talks. "Asophaaaaagus"
"what?"
"Asophaaaaagus"
"Oh, esophagus"
"well I'm sure both pronunciations are correct but this camera I just put up your (easily accessible because it's so much bigger than our superior small Japanese noses) tells me that it's red".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.