The Mission

'I was a stranger ye took me in,
for I was an hungered an ye gave me Meat,
Naked and ye Clothed me'

On walkabout today visiting the neighbourhood that David who recently died lived in. This doorway was an entrance to a hostel for the homeless until the late 70's.
David's widow Vera always told us at his funeral that they had a famous neighbour when they lived in Fountainbridge. One day she was in a call box phoning her mum when someone came into the call box next to her she told her mum it was Sean Connery (007 himself) her mums reply was who's he?!!
Sean and his family lived in the same stair as them. Sean used to be a milk boy for St.Cuthberts Dairy and went round with the horse and cart. Met him during charity events in later years but never had the courage to mention this tale.When I managed The Last Drop in the Grassmarket his younger brother Neil was a regular in there and was in a 'Bond type' film called Operation Kid Brother plus many other films. The area now has been cleared and the brewery gone now newly built flats for students and serviced apartments plus, and no blue plaque for Sean !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.