Life on the Good Intent

By ClydeBorn

The Daisy

I drove home from work through the most amazing deluge listening to Bryan Burnett saying how wonderful the weather in Glasgow was! The floods on the M9 were almost of biblical proportion. However it was not raining when I got home so I managed to mow the grass. Realising I would be struggling for a blip, I did some low level shots of my lawn wildflower meadow grass before getting out the mower.
Before I could make dinner one of my neighbours came over for a chat (three hours), so once again sunset blip ambitions thwarted and three jammie dodgers for dinner as I was too tired when she left at 23:45! It was good to catch up though.

I liked this shot with daises at various stages of their lives. It reminded me of the achingly tragic (as are many) tale by Hans Christian Andersen, The Daisy.

"You also must wither in here, poor little flower. They have given you to me with the little patch of green grass on which you grow, instead of the whole world which was mine out there! Every little blade of grass shall be a great tree for me, and every one of your fragrant leaves a greater flower. Ah, you only tell me how much I have lost!"

For those who don't know it its about a captured lark, dying for lack of water and a daisy in a patch of uprooted turf. A multi-tissue read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.