history

English history is a bit of a blind spot for me. I suppose I was aware of York having a Roman and Viking history, and of the Wars of the Roses. 

I’d never have guessed that a Roman emperor had been proclaimed there. Always learning.

Knowing I’d be spending almost all day in a meeting, followed by 3 hours on a train, I was up at dawn and off into the old part of the city for fresh air, a walk and some breakfast. (I got a Blip too.) 

All three were smart moves. I had a big coffee and 2 croissants for £5.50. The hotel was wanting £13.95 for the same thing in a breakfast room stuffed with young families. I’m not good with over indulged, noisy children first thing. (Is anyone?)      

It was a frosty but sunny morning. Excellent for a wander. Ideal too for seeing the centre without the swarms of tourists which emerge after breakfast. 

The meeting went very well. Long - 10-30 until after 4 - for a Friday, but well run and positive. 

My train home was on time, but getting back after 9 isn’t the best start to the weekend. Nor are East Coast Trains‘ sandwiches.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.