Robert Ostrochovsky

By youoregon1

Beauty, Mystery, Community

I drive off in my car
But whichever way I go
I come back to the place you are.

With limited time during my work schedule I keep the iPhone at the ready while I drive to work. I only had a few seconds to capture the girl with the red glasses, over four traffic lanes away. My camera app of choice takes two images for wider exposure, hence the movement in the girl and the beetle.

At the same time I am listening to an interview with an author who lost his wife while they were kayak adventuring. His book about their relationship, his grieving and the fulfillment of her wish to spread her ashes over five wilderness areas was touching. Gary Ferguson talked of his research in writing the book and discovered that the ancient storytellers suggested there were three qualities that we needed to live well in the world. Beauty, Mystery and Community.

At my work later today I received two phone calls from fellow employees who had just lost a parent. Some days bring a whole lot more to the foreground.

On my way home I heard the Peter Gabriel song in the same spot I photographed the mystery woman early this day, when I was thinking and listening about the beautiful love between the wilderness kayak couple whose lives crashed, and during the day thought about how to share this with my community.

http://youtu.be/B3kFPBtc9BE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.