KimmoMakkonen

By KimmoMakkonen

SB-400 Flash

A story behind this image is that few years ago I did sell my D40 away and I did sell also my SB400 flash. It is a small flash that was little power and flash can be directed to the roof in horisontal pictures.

I mainly use Nikon SB-900 flash that is more powerful and flash light can be directed almost in every direction. And it has an external flash command unit in it :)

Well SB-900 is really big and when I'm taking daily shots I use a small bag for the camera. Now I want to take a roof flash with me. So I needed to buy SB-400 back to me for a trip flash.

I did buy a cheap second hand SB-400 flash. Seller did pack it on a compant packet and sended to me via local post. In Finland people use more local post than couriers. Well possibly packet has dropped, because it did not work when I did get it. I talked with selled and she assured that the flash has worked well. So I did open this flash to take a look what is broken. It seems that the components inside had moved and a little power switch did not turn. So this was an easy fix for this flash. I was lucky that nothing else was broken inside the flash.



Now I tested it and it seems to work well. Now when I know the structure, it is like a psycho-logical feeling that it is not as good flash as it was before I opened it. Now I know how to disassemble this :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.