Swan-a-Swimming!

Last year we had one family of swans with 5 youngsters on the lake at Trentham Gardens. We've had a winter influx and there are now about 15 in total - adults and young, so I'm assuming they're other families. Generally they get on well. The lake is large enough for them to have plenty of food and swimming space. 

But they do occasionally gather together and that's when we get some amazing behaviour. Not too aggressive, but lots of powerful swimming with feathers all fluffed up and a few pecks!

We've had every type of weather today - beautiful sunshine, hail, sleet snow and lots of wind! I was lucky to be out when it was sunny. I had no timetable today so didn't look at my watch and stayed at Trentham for as long as I wanted to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.