cansuyguroglu

By cansuyguroglu

Houses? Religion?

Today, my parents and I got to see a few houses on sale. it was mostly my mom's idea. We have moved 14 houses in 15 years, which I'm not complaining about. I guess we might move again if we find the right house. I love change. I love getting to meet new people and start over every few years. I think I already feel weird being at the same school for 2 years, but it's nice too. It's nice knowing I'll probably be walking in the same corridors and talking to the same 200 people in another 2 years time.

I took this photo in the car with my parents. I was listening to music, disconnected from the world. That's when I decided I might read the Quran and Bible. I'm not a religious person and neither is my family, which means I don't really know much about my own religion. I was thinking about the meaning of all of this: buying a house, getting an education, having a job, being a good citizen. Why? Why do we want to do all of these things? What is the meaning of life? Why are humans so complex? Even though I wouldn't want to be any other animal, I don't enjoy being human. We have no purpose, we all die in the end. And then what? Is it just a blackness? Even the thought of only blackness is scary. I guess that's where religion kicks in. Humans are creatures that are scared of the unknown. We are curious, we want to know everything there is to know about anything. which is why it is highly possible that humans have written all the religious texts, not some god from the above. But I also don't want to believe that everything ends after death. That's why I decided I could read these two books before anything. Maybe it would aid me at understanding why I'm alive.

I've just finished my french presentation on napoleon the first, so here's a fitting quote from him.

"Religion is what keeps the poor from murdering the rich." -Napoleon Bonaparte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.